One Strange Google Search…

You might do a double-take if you saw my last Google search – but if you come back tomorrow and read my post for Write On Edge, it will all make sense.  What was it?  “How do you pick a handcuff lock with a hair pin?”

First off, let’s just say it’s amazing what you can learn from YouTube.  I was surprised to learn this trick isn’t limited to Hollywood…apparently it’s pretty easy to spring a set of handcuff locks with a hair pin.  Who knew?  Now it’s got my curiosity up – I want to try it for myself.  I don’t think my son’s toy handcuffs with the easy release switch would be much of a challenge, though.  Second, I was amazed at how many people are teaching this online.  I’m not the only curious one.

Thankfully, I have a laptop, so one’s going to see that search result pop up on a family computer.  They might start wondering what crime I’d  committed…or thinking that I need to be committed.  Trust me, this isn’t the only strange search I’ve done since I started writing, it’s just the most recent.  This follows “how long does it take a body to decompose” and “how long does DNA evidence last when exposed to the elements.”  Add to that my obsession with the ID Channel and the police procedural book on my Kindle, and it’s the setup for one of two careers: mystery author or serial killer.

Hmmm…I wonder what other spy movie tricks are actually doable?  I may have to go back to Google…

2 thoughts on “One Strange Google Search…

Leave a Reply

